UN Organizations

UN Organizations

The United Nations is divided into several general assemblies that address the following topics:

GA-1: Disarmament and International Security (DISEC)

GA-2: Economic and Financial (ECOFIN)

GA-3: Social, Cultural and Humanitarian (SOCHUM)

GA-4: Special Political and Decolonization (SPECPOL)

GA-5: Administrative and Budgetary

GA-6: Legal

In addition to the general assemblies, the United Nations also includes specialized bodies, including the UN Security Council, the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and the International Court of Justice.

The Security Council seeks to resolve global conflicts through international sanctions and peacekeeping actions. The council consists of five permanent members—China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States—and five rotating members.

Other organizations affiliated with the UN are the World Health Organizations, the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) and the World Food Programme.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *